IARS Mentored Research Awards

Sponsor Deadline: 

Apr 30, 2023


International Anesthesia Research Society

UI Contact: 

ProposalCentral link 


Principal applicant must be an IARS member. ▪ Principal applicant must be an investigator who has yet to establish substantial independent research funding or who is initiating a new area of research. ▪ Duration since completion of clinical training or PhD must be under 10 years. ▪ Applicants must have a minimum of 45% protected non-clinical time. ▪ Prior or current recipients of NIH R grants, NIH K grants, AHA Young Investigator Awards, VA Career Development Awards, or the equivalent, are not eligible to apply. IMRA recipients may not be simultaneously receiving support from an NIH T32 grant. IARS does not allow for concurrent funding of an IMRA with these or similar awards. ▪ Prior or current recipients of Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Mentored Research Training grants are not eligible to apply.


The IARS Mentored Research Awards (IMRA) are intended to support investigations that will further the understanding of clinical practice in anesthesiology and related sciences. Up to four research projects will be selected annually to receive up to $175,000 each, payable over two years. The grants are intended to help create future leaders and prepare applicants to apply for independent research funding.

▪The proposed project may be in any area of investigation (clinical, translational, basic science), but must have ultimate relevance to the broad practice of anesthesiology and its subspecialties.