Parker B. Francis Fellowship in Pulmonary Research

Sponsor Deadline: 

Oct 19, 2015


Francis Family Foundation

UI Contact: 

The Parker B. Francis Fellowship in Pulmonary Research  is intended to support the development of outstanding investigators who plan careers in pulmonary and critical care medicine and sleep medicine and transition to independent, self-supporting, faculty members. 

Parker B. Francis Fellowship grants are awarded to institutions for the purpose of providing stipends, fringe benefits and modest travel expenses in support of qualified post-doctoral fellows or newly appointed assistant professors. Award recipients will thereby be enabled to devote the major part of their professional effort to research related to pulmonary disease and lung biology. 

Grants are made for three years of support. It is permissible to maintain support for the awardee as he or she moves from fellowship to faculty status. Awards are made to institutions on behalf of the fellows and can be transferred to other institutions only under special circumstances with prior approval from the Director of the Fellowship Program. 


Members of the University of Iowa must consult their department head if they are interested in applying to the Parker B. Francis Fellowship Program

Fellows supported by a PBF Fellowship must be assured of having at least 75 percent of their time available for research. This means that a total of no more than three months per year may be spent in clinical or other non-research activities. 

Institutions may have only two Parker B. Francis Fellows in the same department at a given time. Therefore, a department with a current PBF Fellow may submit one application for an additional award this funding cycle.  In addition, a department may submit no more than one application annually. 

NOTE: Having an NIH K or R series or similar award at the time of application makes the individual ineligible for a PBF Fellowship.

There are no restrictions regarding discipline or department. Clinical or basic science departments are suitable; however, it is expected that the proposed research will focus on lung biology or lung disease. Awards are limited to institutions located in the US and Canada. Each department may submit only one application annually and is limited to a maximum of two active fellowships at any one time.

Application deadline is October 19, 2015.